The Tri-Cities Chapter Elects New Officers

Immediate Past President – Rachel Horton-Cain

President – Kristin Sturgill

President-Elect – Robbie Phillips

Treasurer – Gary Tucker

Secretary – Jim Wozniak

Director-at-Large (2011) – Marybeth McLain


Those serving in unexpired terms:

Assembly Delegate 2009- 2011) – John King

Director-at-Large (2010-2012) – Tracy Broadwater

Director-at-Large (2009-2012) – Phil Timp


From The Chairman’s Office

Welcome to the December 2010 PRSA Southeast District Newsletter!

I had a great visit with the Tri-Cities chapter on Nov. 9.  Thank y’all for your wonderful hospitality, professionalism and commitment to our great profession.  I’m looking forward to my December 15-16 visit with the North Carolina Chapter.  I’m sorry that I did not get to visit the Volunteer, Nashville and Memphis chapters before my term was over.

Our Leadership Rally was a smashing success!

Thank you to our great District Officers, two of my GSU PRSSA students, Erika & Brigette, and to the SE District Leaders who attended and made the leadership rally a very interactive, fun and informative day.

Thank you to Chick-fil-A for providing us a wonderful breakfast, lunch & snack.  We hope you’re planning to attend the leadership rally next year in Birmingham.

Thank you for your leadership & active involvement in PRSA. I’m honored to have been your chair and look forward to meeting every member of the PRSA SE District in the future.

I also want to thank Melanie, Teresa, Jennifer, Wendy, and Candice for their hardwork, professionalism, friendship and putting up with me!

Thank You.

Dr. Joseph V. Trahan, III, APR, Fellow, PRSA

PRSA SE District Chair


Tar Hill Chapter Professional Development Conference

Learning a lot at Uncharted Territory-our Professional Development Conference

By Stephanie Skordas, President-elect, Tar Hill Chapter

We had a nice crowd at the Elliott University Center at UNCG on October 22nd for our chapter’s professional development conference.  If your schedule didn’t permit you to attend, here’s a quick recap.

Keynoter Jim Lukaszewski started us off nicely, talking about the “new normal” in public relations, with good reminders about how tried and true basics work in every communications channel.  He charmingly warned us about “The Seven PR Pitfalls”: changing the truth, complacency, fronting, shallowness, shortcuts, cowardice and whininess and reminded us that we have to determine our own personal protected beliefs and virtues to navigate troubled waters.

I attended Katie Neal of Mullen’s marketing to women breakout session, and we had a dynamic group chatting about how “making it pink” isn’t the answer when it comes to marketing to women.  You know where to start? By listening. If you ask your customers what they want, they’ll usually tell you.

We had two other great breakout sessions-if only I could have been in all three at once!

Ann Subervi, the ethical optimist, said something during her midday keynote that just resonated with me: Good PR is not easy, but bad PR is! She says it’s time to hit the reset button on PR and remember that we should be counselors, not mouthpieces.  When our clients want us to pitch a story that doesn’t have news value, we should nicely and honestly tell them so.  And then help them find a story that the public wants to follow.

I was so jazzed about ethics, that I followed Ann to her breakout session, where we talked more in depth about the recent FTC guidelines about disclosure, that a news release is considered commerical speech and has limited protections under the First Amendment. Great stuff.

Our day ended with Nicole Ducouer, morning anchor at WXII-TV who gave our interested PR professionals great advice about how to get stories covered, when to call the assignment desk and how pitching a story for the station’s web site could help spread your client’s news.


PRSA Lookout Board Announced for 2011

The following individuals were elected or appointed to serve the PRSA Lookout Chapter effective Jan. 1, 2011.

Kristiina Braden
BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee

Vice President
Jim Sabourin, APR

Pat Holloway, APR
Parkridge Medical Center

Joel Henderson
North America Credit Services

Assembly Delegate
Jessica Presley
McKee Foods Corporation

Director-at-Large (2011-2013)
Rob Alderman
Life Care Centers of America

Director-at-Large (2010-2012)
Jacquelyn Webb
McKee Foods Corporation

Membership Chair/Nominating Committee Chair
Kevin Lusk
Chattanooga and Hamilton County Medical Society

Accreditation Chair
Christie Kleinmann, APR
Lee University

Advocacy Chair
Jessica Presley
McKee Foods Corporation

Diversity Chair
Kathryn Grant
On Point

Ethics Chair
Amy Mace
Mace Public Relations

Public Relations Chair
Seth Seymour

Rachel Withers
Hospice of Chattanooga

Newsletter Editor
Dawn McAbee

PRSSA Liaison
Bethany McCoy
Grace Healthcare, LLC

South Carolina Chapter Elects 2011 Board

  • Immediate Past President – Allison Skipper, APR
  • President – Penny Cothran
  • President-Elect – Erin Watson
  • Vice President – Amy Bomar
  • Secretary – Janet Lawrence
  • Treasurer – Jacklyn Deter
  • Assembly Delegate (2011-2013) – Ansley Welchel, APR
  • Midlands Regional Director – Elaine Taylor
  • Board Member-at-Large (2011-2012) – Joe Taylor
  • Chapter Ethics Officer – George Johnson, APR, Fellow PRSA

Those serving in unexpired terms:

  • Assembly Delegate – Sharmin Hill, APR (2009-2011)
  • Assembly Delegate – Kelly Davis, APR (2010-2012)
  • Upstate Regional Director (2010-2011) – Alice Grey Harrison, APR
  • Lowcountry Regional Director (2010-2011) – Chris Duncan
  • Board Member-at-Large (2010-11) – Keela Middleton, APR
  • Board Member-at-Large (2010-11) – Adrienne Fairwell, APR